Planning a wedding without a “save the date”

When you manage creative projects for a living it’s tricky to get excited about planning another one.

I learnt a new ball game on Sunday – you stand in a circle and choose someone to throw the ball to and then some else throws it to you. You continue until everyone has had a turn. You then remember the sequence! Easy! Yep! Then here’s the tricky part, you introduce another ball and that has a different sequence to it and you play with both at once. ⚽️ 🎱

The exercise is meant to switch your brain on and sharpen your reaction – it certainly does that and also reminds me if someone throws a ball at you when your pre-empting where you’re going to throw ball number one you get a ball in your face! 😂

This is exactly how I feel about planning a wedding! 😂

We’ve been engaged a fair few years. I’ve had thoughts around doing it and ideas but no capacity to actually enjoy putting my energy into organising it. We’ve written the guest list and the roles and responsibilities wish list and I’ve got a secret Pinterest board – that’s it!

In terms of environment,we do feel like we’ve narrowed it down to two options…

1. An autumnal festival in England surrounded by beautiful autumn colours and dramatic cooler skies. I did really fancy Alnwick Garden tree house but Dave doesn’t feel it’s special enough although if you saw Sean Elliot’s recent photos of the snowy wedding 🎩 👰 he might think again! Mulled cider, sand paintings and music and dancing under open skies all feature.

2. A holiday in a European destination – we’ve checked out a couple but haven’t found the one! We’re going to see another this year. I really like the idea of this for loads of reasons – I love the sun and feel like it would be easier to manage hen and stag parties in the same week too and have one big celebration of love with our nearest and dearest!

Thematically, I have curated ideas for both in my head; save the dates, invitations, flowers, my dress, shoes, jewellery, the bridal party, the chairs and tables, table centres, favours, party props.

There’d be an ice cream van for party time too! ✨🎈I’ve started the playlist and have a couple of performers in mind too! 🍦

I’m not that keen on speeches but I love poetry and other peoples words so I have a couple of different ideas of how to invite these in.

I’d love to shift the balance of everyone being there to watch and celebrate to everyone being there to participate and celebrate and I have so many ideas around this from wish trees to messages in bottles.

I love the idea of a festival feel but Dave is more comfortable with a smaller, shorter more intimate ‘do’ so there’s some working through that although he’s been very sweet and said he’ll go with whatever I’d most like to do. (He’s been married before and it was quite a grand event)

And that there’d be tonnes for the children to do…the little one loves a celebration and I very much plan for him to lead in the activities he wants for the other children there. If it’s autumnal there’ll be Building dens and on holiday it will be more ball games and pool parties I think.

I like the idea of re-writing vows – I’ve had a tricky relationship with ‘religion’ but We are very spiritually connected and we both want to celebrate that. We’ve discussed sorting out the legal part with a couple of witnesses and separating that out too.

So there we have it for now anyway! I’d love to hear your thoughts and ideas of how you might have planned your own special day!💜💕💜

2 Comments Add yours

  1. All your creative visions sound so beautiful Claire! My first impulse was to offer the suggestion that you ask, say, four people who you both love and trust to tell you what their imagined when your wedding is mentioned But then the words ‘inside out’ came to mind- and I do suspect will put a huge amount of focus and energy into your guests having a lovely day- that maybe you and Dave work from your vows to each other, outward, and as you say then to each other, let the sense of place and time radiate outwards from that. I don’t know how one would approach vow writing, but, you are a poet, and so the evocative power of your words can truly speak, can bring images and sensations just as they do in your other poetic work. Hello Claire!

    I can’t remember ever seeing a wedding photo taken from the bride or groom’s point of view. Does the photographic legacy of a wedding affect how subsequent couples plan their day?

    what kind of celebration can be hold you there, in the centre in Love, so all the ripples will carry out through the celebration so the guests, the music and food will all take care of themselves…

    I hope this isn’t too… much (Your post was very inspiring! The sharing is wonderful!)

    Hmm, one of my ‘shaman school’ homeworks is about channelling/creating a ritual as part of a celebration, or part of its preparation. This is not necessarily a formal, or public thing, maybe part of the preparations of a person, or a space- well, I’d be honoured to participate in this way and contribute something creative through the shamanic work.

    This is because I find myself inspired to love you and your family, what you do and how you live- you send such beautiful ripples out into the world…I can imagine so many people coming forward wanting to participate in some way- and I’ll say this now, because I offer without expectation- I don’t expect inclusion in any of your celebrations by way of exchange. The context is, I’ve just read an email from a class/clan member who has shared her ‘celebration ritual homework’ then, next up, I click on your blog and read it. I love what you guys do and will celebrate when I hear you guys have married. By participating on any level, yes I do get to write a little report and complete a module for my course, but also, I get to visit a place where I participate in love-generated flow. I’m right there, conscious that my own work is about the balance of divine masculine and feminine.

    So, your celebration inspires and supports my inner work- and I suppose this is the exchange, in terms of process! I realise we don’t know each other so well, but, I feel i can write ‘the balance of the divine masculine and feminine’ in an email to you, and you don’t close down to me!

    So, whether or not, the offer finds a fit, I look forward to catching up See you soon! xSarah

    >

    Liked by 1 person

    1. cnewts says:

      Aw I love this response Sarah – it’s lovely to get a direct response to my witting and you have inspired me to start a wedding notebook in which I will print this and stick it and when the time is right open it when we have a coffee and write more – I love the thought of celebratory ritual – I feel like silver into a wishing well connects here. One of the reasons I shared my thoughts was because of our collective intent and in dreaming into being I am excited that you have beautiful things to offer! 🌈💕💜⭐️

      Like

Leave a comment